Dad, this is the season of Grief

Shall I crumble and fall like a withered leaf,
From this deep sorrow – from this painful grief?

Dad, how can I move on or find a way to be strong?
Will I ever again enjoy life’s sweet song?

Sometimes your warm memory sheds light in the dark
And eases the pain like the song of a rejoicing lark.

Then it flies away on silent wings and I’m alone;
Searching for more of the light it had shone.
And the grief’s bitter coldness surround me,

Dad,How can I fill the void and deep desperate need
To implant my heart with hope’s lovely seed?

Then I look at a picture of your graceful smiling face
And for a moment I escape to a calm and happy place;

Remembering the laughter and all you would do,
Cherishing the honest, caring, loving spirit of you.

Dad,will all those life’s cheerful moments be brought back
And allow me to forget the agony of missing you?

Will my strength of moving on bring new hope
And teach my grieving soul how to cope?

Sometimes I read your treasured card/email you sent me
And each word’s special meaning makes me see,

The precious gift of your love I was fortunate to receive,
And then I realize that you’d never want to see me grieve.

Dad, shall your warm memories bring new light,
And free my shattered heart of its terrible plight?

Will your gentle touch in my dreams chase my life’s dark clouds away,
And show me a clear path towards a better day?

When I visit your grave where you lie in eternal peace,
I know that death and heaven brought you release;

I try to imagine your joy on that shore across the sea,
And, until I join you, that will be enough for me;

For all the remaining time of my life on earth,
There will be days, I’ll miss your merriment and mirth;

And sometimes I’ll terribly miss all the yesterdays,
Missing our chats and your gentle understanding ways;

Yet, the lessons of life you taught me,
And the good things in life you’ve helped me to see;

I will carry forward as lasting gifts that will sustain,
My soul on the journey to that peaceful shore and see you again.

2 thoughts on “Dad, this is the season of Grief

Leave a comment